
Paid Parental Leave  
(See Texas Government Code 661.9125) 

Purpose – Under Texas Government Code 661.9125, OCA employees who are 

eligible for leave under the Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA) are entitled to Paid 

Parental Leave for the birth or adoption of a child. 

Leave Allowance – An eligible employee is entitled to the following Paid Parental 

Leave amounts: 

a. 40 days paid leave for the birth of a child by the employee, 

b. 20 days paid leave for the birth of a child by the employee’s spouse, 

c. 20 days paid leave for the birth of a child by a gestational surrogate, or 

d. 20 days paid leave for the adoption of a child.  

Approval of Paid Parental Leave – In order for leave to be granted, an employee 

must apply and be approved for FMLA leave for the birth or adoption of the child.  

Using Paid Parental Leave – Leave can only be used once the baby is born or once 

the child is home. Paid Parental Leave can only be used up to the date of the FMLA 

leave expiration.  Paid Parental Leave is used concurrently with FMLA leave and 

counts towards the maximum 480 hours an employee is entitled to under the FMLA. 


