
 

(OCA 10.01.21) 1 

Justice Court Civil Cases and Actions 

Prepared by the Office of Court Administration (OCA) 

Effective January 1, 2022 

 
 

 

          1.  Civil Case or Action (Original)  .............................................................................2 

  2. Delinquent Tax Case  .............................................................................................3 

          3.  Eviction Proceeding  ..............................................................................................4 

  4.  Foreign Judgment ................................................................................................. 5       

  5.  Transfer of Case from Another County  ................................................................6 

  6.  Court Cost in Truancy Court Proceeding ..............................................................7 

7.  Expunctions …… ………………………………………………………………..8 

 8. Orders of Nondisclosures Issued Under Section 411.072 …..……………………9 

 9. Other Orders or Petitions of Nondisclosure……………………………….……..10 

         10. All Actions (Other than Original Actions)………………………………………11 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 

(OCA 10.01.21) 2 

1. Civil Suit or Action (Original) 

 

Fee Type                                                       Amount  

  Statewide Required Filing Fees (Set Amounts) 
  (1) State Consolidated Civil Fee   $21.00 

  (2) Local Consolidated Civil Fee                                                    $33.00 

______________________________________________________________________________                

Total Filing Fees                                                                          $54.00  
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2. Delinquent Tax Case 

 

Fee Type                                                       Amount  

  Statewide Required Filing Fees (Set Amounts) 
  (1) State Consolidated Civil Fee   $21.00 

  (2) Local Consolidated Civil Fee                                                    $33.00 

______________________________________________________________________________                

Total Filing Fees                                                                                                         $54.00 

 
 

NOTES:  (a)  If the plaintiff in a delinquent tax case is “a taxing unit,” the plaintiff does not  

   have to  pay any filing fees. Texas Tax Code § 33.49. A “taxing unit” is defined  

   in Section 1.04 of the Tax Code to mean any political unit of the State that is  

   authorized to impose, and is imposing, ad valorem property taxes (e.g., counties,  

   cities, and school districts). Because delinquent tax cases are always brought by  

   taxing units, plaintiffs never pay filing fees in delinquent tax cases. But the  

   calculation of filing fees in delinquent tax suits is not an empty exercise because  

   often the filing fees are assessed as court costs against an unsuccessful   

   defendant. 

     (b)  An “Application for Tax Warrant” is an independent civil case brought pursuant 

   to Sections 33.21—33.23 of the Texas Tax Code. The law is not entirely clear as  

   to whether such a case is technically a delinquent tax case. For purposes of filing 

   fees, the most common (and probably best) practice is to treat applications for  

   tax warrants as delinquent tax cases. 
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3. Eviction Proceeding 

 

Fee Type                                                       Amount  

  Statewide Required Filing Fees (Set Amounts) 
  (1) State Consolidated Civil Fee   $21.00 

  (2) Local Consolidated Civil Fee                                                    $33.00 

______________________________________________________________________________                

Total Filing Fees                                                                                                         $54.00 

  

 
NOTE:  This category includes forcible detainers, forcible entry and detainers, and writs of re- 

  entry.  
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4. Foreign Judgment 

 

 A person filing a foreign judgment shall pay to the clerk the amount provided by law for 

filing the case in the justice courts of this state. See Civil Practice & Remedies Code, Section 

35.007. 

 
 

NOTE:  Currently, this amount is $54.00. 
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5. Transfer of Case from Another County 

 

 The fee for filing a case or action transferred from another county is the same fee that 

would have been assessed had the case or action been filed in the receiving court. 

 

 
NOTES: (a) The fee for filing a case transferred from another county follows the case. 

  (b) This category includes cases transferred or received from another county, not  

   from another court in the same county.  

  (c) This page does not apply to cases transferred pursuant to an appeal. 

  (d) Unpaid costs incurred prior to the filing of the case are taxed against the  

   plaintiff. The clerk shall notify the plaintiff or his attorney that the transfer has  

   been completed, that the filing fee in the receiving court is due and payable no  

   later than fourteen days after receiving notice to pay the filing fee in the new  

   court or to file a Statement of Inability to Afford Payment of Court Costs, and  

   that the case may be dismissed if the filing fee is not timely paid. See Rule  

   502.4(d)(1)(G), Texas Rules of Civil Procedure.
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6. Court Cost in Truancy Court Proceeding 

 

 Filing fees may not be assessed against the state for filing the petition. See Family Code 

§65.054. However, under certain conditions, the court must assess a $50.00 court cost against the 

child, the child’s parent, or a person responsible for the child’s support. See Special Note (1) 

below.  

 

  
NOTES:  (a)  Before imposing a $50 court cost, the court must provide a reasonable   

   opportunity for  the child, the child’s parent, or other person responsible for the  

   child’s support to be heard and find that the child, parent, or other person  

   is financially able to pay the court cost. The court’s order to pay the court cost  

   must be in writing and signed by the judge before it is payable (See Family Code  

   §65.107).  

  (b)  The court cost must be deposited in a special account to be used only to offset the 

   cost of operating the truancy court.  

  (c)  No other cost may be assessed. 
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7. Expunctions 

 

Fee Type                                                   Amount 

  Statewide Required Filing Fees (Set Amounts) 
  (1) State Consolidated Civil Fee                                                                      $21.00 

  (2) Local Consolidated Civil Fee                                                                               $33.00 

  (3) Expunction Filing Fee         $100.00 

__________________________________________________________________________                

Total Filing Fees                                                                                                   $154.00 
  

 
NOTE:  The court must waive fee No. 3 if there is an acquittal other than an acquittal under Art.  

  55.01(c), CCP, and the petitioner files his or her petition no later than 30 days after the  

  acquittal, or if the petitioner is entitled to the expunction because of the successful  

  completion of a veterans treatment court program or any other program authoring a  

  waiver upon successful completion of the program.  
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8. Nondisclosures Under Section 411.072 

 

Fee Type                                               Amount 

  Statewide Required Filing Fees (Set Amounts) 
  (4) Fee For Order of Nondisclosure under §411.072                                               $28.00  

  

__________________________________________________________________________                

Total Filing Fees                                                                                                  $28.00 

 

 
 

NOTES: (a) Senate Bill 41, 87th Legislature Session, did not repeal the $28.00 fee that a  

   person must pay before an order issues under §411.072, Gov’t Code.  

  (b) Do not assess the consolidated civil fees on requests, petitions, or orders under   

   §411.072, Gov’t Code, as defendants are not required to file a petition for an  

   order under the section.1 OCA has provided a model letter for defendants to  

   submit to the court. This letter is not a petition and should be used only if the  

   court has not issued the order when required to do so under the section. 

 

 

 
1 Section 411.072, Gov’t Code, does not require a defendant to file a petition for an order of nondisclosure, so a 

clerk must not assess general filing fees when a defendant requests an order under §411.072. Compare the language 

of §411.072(b) with the language of §§411.0725(b), 411.0727(b), 411.0728(b), 411.073(b), 411.0731(b), 

411.0735(b), and 411.0736(b), Government Code. Unlike the aforementioned sections, §411.072(b) does not 

contain language requiring a defendant, “to petition the court” or “to file with the court …. a petition.” 
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9.  Petitions for Nondisclosure 

(Other Than Orders Under §411.072, Gov’t Code) 

 

Fee Type                                                       Amount  

  Statewide Required Filing Fees (Set Amounts) 
  (1) State Consolidated Civil Fee   $21.00 

  (2) Local Consolidated Civil Fee                                                                                    $33.00 

______________________________________________________________________________                

Total Filing Fees                                                                                                         $54.00 

 

 
NOTES: (a) These fees do not apply to automatic orders of nondisclosure issued under  

   §411.072, Gov’t Code, as defendants are not required to file a petition for  

   an order under that section.2  

  (b) These are the only fees authorized for the filing of a petition for an order of  

   nondisclosure other than an order under §411.072, Gov’t Code. Senate Bill 41,  

   87th Legislature Session, repealed the $28 fee that a person must pay before 

   the order issues.           

 

 

 

 
2 Compare the language of §411.072(b) with the language of §§ 411.0725(b), 411.0727(b), 411.0728(b), 411.073(b), 

411.0731(b), 411.0735(b), and 411.0736(b), Government Code. Unlike these other sections, § 411.072(b) does not 

contain language that requires a person to “petition the court” or “to file with the court …. a petition.” 
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10. All Actions  

 

Fee Type                                                       Amount  

  Statewide Required Filing Fees (Set Amounts) 
  (1) State Consolidated Civil Fee   $21.00 

  (2) Local Consolidated Civil Fee                                                    $33.00 

______________________________________________________________________________                

Total Filing Fees                                                                          $54.00  

 

 
NOTES:  (a)  This category includes any action other than an original action for a civil case,  

   including an appeal and any counterclaim, cross-action, intervention, contempt  

   action, interpleader, motion for new trial, or third party action.  

  (b)  The fee is paid by the party initiating the action at the time the action is initiated.  

 


