## SCAC MEETING AGENDA Friday, February 3, 2017 9:00 a.m.

**Location:** Texas Associations of Broadcasters

502 E. 11<sup>th</sup> Street, #200 Austin, Texas 78701 (512) 322-9944

### 1. WELCOME (Babcock)

#### 2. STATUS REPORT FROM CHIEF JUSTICE HECHT

Chief Justice Hecht will report on Supreme Court actions and those of other courts related to the Supreme Court Advisory Committee since the January 13 meeting.

## 3. **DISCOVERY RULES**

171-205 Sub-Committee Members:

Mr. Robert Meadows - Chair

Hon. Tracy Christopher - Vice

Prof. Alexandra Albright

Hon. Jane Bland

Hon. Harvey Brown

Mr. David Jackson

Ms. Cristina Rodriguez

Hon. Ana Estevez

Mr. Kent Sullivan

- (a) February 1, 2017 Discovery Subcommittee Letter of B. Meadows
- (b) Discovery Subcommittee Proposed Amendments Jan. 2017
- (c) State Bar of Texas Committee on Court Rules Proposed Spoliation Rules

## 4. EVIDENCE RULES

**Buddy Low** 

**Professor Goode** 

(d) 2017 Evidence Rules

### 5. PROPOSED APPELLATE SEALING RULE AND RULE 76a

Appellate Sub-Committee Members:

Prof. Bill Dorsaneo - Chair

Pamela Baron - Vice

Hon. Bill Boyce

Hon. Brett Busby

Prof. Elaine Carlson

Frank Gilstrap

Charles Watson

Evan Young

Scott Stollev

- (e) Rule 9 Redraft, December 20, 2016
- (f) Rule 193.4(a) and (b) December 19, 2016
- (g) Tex. R. Civ. P. 76a December 20, 2016
- (h) Hon. Brett Busby email
- (i) Filing Documents Under Seal October 24, 2016 B. Dorsaneo Memo

## 6. TEXAS RULES OF CIVIL PROCEDURE 21a, 21c, 57 and 244

Rules 15-165a Committee Members:

Richard Orsinger - Chair

Frank Gilstrap - Vice

Prof. Alexandra Albright

Prof. Elaine Carlson

Nina Cortell

Prof. Bill Dorsaneo

O. C. Hamilton

Pete Schenkkan

Hon. Anahid Estevez

(j) September 1, 2016 Referral Letter

## 7. AMENDMENTS TO THE JUSTICE COURT RULES

Rules 523-734 Committee Members:

O. C. Hamilton - Chair

L. Hayes Fuller - Vice Chair

Eduardo Rodriguez

### 8. AMENDMENTS TO THE CODE OF JUDICIAL CONDUCT

Legislative Mandates Committee Members:

Jim Perdue, Jr. - Chair

Hon. Jane Bland - Vice Chair

Hon. Robert Pemberton

Prof. Elaine Carlson

Pete Schenkkan

Hon. David L. Evans

Robert Levy

Hon . Brett Busby

Wade Shelton

Richard Orsinger

### 9. AMENDMENTS TO THE STATE BAR RULE

Judicial Administration Committee Members:

Nina Cortell - Chair

Hon. David Peeples - Vice Chair

Prof. Lonny Hoffman

Hon. Tom Gray

Hon. Bill Boyce

Hon. David Newell

Kennon Wooten

(k) Memorandum To Full Committee

# 10. WHETHER THE DEADLINES PRESCRIBED BY RULE 53.7 OF THE RULES OF APPELLATE PROCEDURE ARE JURISDICTIONAL; PROCEDURE FOR FILING LATE PETITION DUE TO INEFFECTIVE ASSISTANCE OF COUNSEL

Appellate Committee Members:

Prof. Bill Dorseano – Chair Pamela Baron – Vice Chair

Hon. Bill Boyce

Hon. Brett Busry

Prof. Elaine Carlson

Frank Gilstrap

Charles Watson

Evan Young

Scott Stolley