SCAC MEETING AGENDA (AMENDED)

Friday, June 10, 2016 9:00 a.m.

Location: Texas Associations of Broadcasters

502 E. 11th Street, #200 Austin, Texas 78701 (512) 322-9944

1. WELCOME (Babcock)

2. STATUS REPORT FROM CHIEF JUSTICE HECHT

Chief Justice Hecht will report on Supreme Court actions and those of other courts related to the Supreme Court Advisory Committee since the April 2016 meeting.

3. EX PARTE COMMUNICATIONS

Judicial Administration Sub-Committee Members:

Ms. Nina Cortell - Chair

Hon. David Peeples

Hon. Tom Gray

Prof. Lonny Hoffman

Hon. Bill Boyce

Mr. Michael A. Hatchell

(a) June 6, 2016 Memorandum on Ex Parte and Non-Litigant Communications w/attachments

4. <u>TIME STANDARDS FOR THE DISPOSITION OF CRIMINAL CASES IN DISTRICT AND STATUTORY COUNTY COURTS</u>

166-166a Sub-Committee Members:

Hon. David Peeples - Chair

Richard Munzinger - Vice

Hon. Jeff Boyd

Prof. Elaine Carlson

Ms. Nina Cortell

Mr. Rusty Hardin

Ms. Cristina Rodriguez

Mr. Carlos Soltero

Hon. Elsa Alcala

 (b) 12/10/2015 Email from Judge Peeples re: Time Standards for Criminal Cases June 9, 2016 Memo from Judge Peeples 2016-5-26 Judge Alcala Trial Letter

5. **DISCOVERY RULES**

171-205 Sub-Committee Members:

Mr. Robert Meadows - Chair

Hon. Tracy Christopher - Vice

Prof. Alexandra Albright

Hon. Jane Bland

Hon. Harvey Brown

Mr. David Jackson

Ms. Cristina Rodriguez

Hon. Ana Estevez

Mr. Kent Sullivan

- (c) 2016-6-8 Email from R. Meadows to the SCAC
- (d) 2016-6-5 Full Text Comparison; TRCP and FRCP
- (e) 2016-6-5 Matched Comparison; TRCP and FRCP

6. CANON 4F OF THE CODE OF JUDICIAL CONDUCT

Legislative Mandates Sub-Committee Members:

Mr. Jim Perdue - Chair

Hon. Jane Bland - Vice

Hon. Robert Pemberton

Mr. Pete Schenkkan

Hon. David L. Evans

Mr. Robert Levy

Hon. Brett Busby

Prof. Elaine Carlson

Mr. Wade Shelton

- (f) October 8, 2015 J. Perdue Memo re Decision on Judge Pollard's Request
- (g) Judge Tom Pollard's May 12, 2015 letter

7. TEXAS RULE OF APPELLATE PROCEDURE 49

Appellate Sub-Committee Members:

Prof. Bill Dorsaneo - Chair

Ms. Pamela Baron - Vice

Hon. Bill Boyce

Hon. Brett Busby

Prof. Elaine Carlson

Mr. Frank Gilstrap

Mr. Charles Watson

Mr. Evan Young

Mr. Scott Stolley

- (h) May 25, 2016 Memo from Prof. Bill Dorsaneo
- (i) Misc. Doc. No. 89-9017
- (j) Misc. Doc. No. 08-9115
- (k) Misc. Doc. No. 08-9115a

8. PROPOSED APPELLATE SEALING RULE AND RULE 76a

Appellate Sub-Committee Members:

Prof. Bill Dorsaneo - Chair

Ms. Pamela Baron - Vice

Hon. Bill Boyce

Hon. Brett Busby

Prof. Elaine Carlson

Mr. Frank Gilstrap

Mr. Charles Watson

Mr. Evan Young

Mr. Scott Stolley

(l) Proposed Rule on Sealing Documents and Appellate Proposed Revs. To Rule 76a-June 8, 2016 w/76a documents

Rule 9 (Alternative Draft) (6/9/2016)

Rule 76a (2)

9. TEXAS RULE OF CIVIL PROCEDURE 183

523-734 Sub-Committee Members:

Mr. Carl Hamilton - Chair

Mr. L. Hayes Fuller - Vice

Mr. Eduardo Rodriguez

Mr. Roger Hughes

- (m) Draft Amended TRCP 183
- (n) Revised Interpreter Memo June 1, 2016
- (o) ABA Standard 2.3
- (p) Executive Order 13166
- (q) DOJ 2002 Guidelines
- (r) DOJ's Fact on Language Access Plans
- (s) 28 CFR 42.104
- (t) Tex. S. Ct. and OCA's Language Access Plans

10. TIME FOR JURY DEMAND IN A DE NOVO APPEAL IN COUNTY COURT

Hon. Tracy Christopher

Prof. Elaine Carlson

Ms. Cristina Rodriguez

11. **GARNISHMENT RULE**

523-734 Sub-Committee Members:

Mr. Carl Hamilton - Chair

Mr. L. Hayes Fuller - Vice

Mr. Eduardo Rodriguez

(u) Garnishment Rule Memo – June 8, 2016

Garnishment Rule Memo Attachment

Garnishment Rule Version #1

Garnishment Rule Version #2