Justice Court Civil Suits and Actions

Prepared by the Office of Court Administration (OCA) Effective January 1, 2016

| I. | Inde | pendent | Civil | Suits |
|----|------|---------|--------------|--------------|
|----|------|---------|--------------|--------------|

| | 1. Civil Suit (General) | 2 |
|-----|------------------------------------------|---|
| | 2. Delinquent Tax Suit | 3 |
| | 3. Eviction Proceeding | |
| | 4. Foreign Judgment | |
| | 5. Transfer of Suit from Other County | |
| | · | |
| | | |
| II. | . Actions Within Independent Civil Suits | |
| | | |
| | 1. All Actions other than Interpleaders | 7 |

I.1. Civil Suit (General)

| Fee Type | Fee |
|----------------------------------------------------------------|--------------------|
| I. Statewide Required Filing Fees (Set Amounts) | |
| (1) Basic Filing Fee | \$25.00 |
| (2) Statewide E-Filing Fee | 10.00 |
| (3) Indigent Legal Services Fee | 6.00 |
| II. Statewide Optional Filing Fees (Varying Amounts) | |
| (4) Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) Fee | 0.01 to 5.00 |
| III. Required Filing Fees in Certain Counties (Set Amounts) | |
| (5) Comal County Juvenile Placement Fee | 1.50 |
| IV. Optional Filing Fees in Certain Counties (Varying Amounts) | |
| (6) Dallas County Civil Court Facility Fee | 0.01 to 15.00 |
| (7) Hays County Civil Court Facility Fee | 0.01 to 15.00 |
| (8) Rockwall County Civil Court Facility Fee | 0.01 to 15.00 |
| Total Filing Fees | \$41.00 to \$61.00 |

Special Notes: This category includes all civil suits not otherwise listed in Category I.

I.2. Delinquent Tax Suit

| | Fee Type | Fee |
|--------------|--------------------------------------------------------|--------------------|
| I. Sta | tewide Required Filing Fees (Set Amounts) | |
| (1) | Basic Filing Fee | \$25.00 |
| (2) | Statewide E-Filing Fee | 10.00 |
| (3) | Indigent Legal Services Fee | 6.00 |
| III. Req | uired Filing Fees in Certain Counties (Set Amounts) | |
| (5) | Comal County Juvenile Placement Fee | 1.50 |
| IV. Op | tional Filing Fees in Certain Counties (Varying Amount | ts) |
| (6) | Dallas County Civil Court Facility Fee | 0.01 to 15.00 |
| (7) | Hays County Civil Court Facility Fee | 0.01 to 15.00 |
| (8) | Rockwall County Civil Court Facility Fee | 0.01 to 15.00 |
| Total Filing | Fees | \$41.00 to \$56.00 |

Special Notes: (a) If the plaintiff in a delinquent tax suit is "a taxing unit" then the plaintiff does not have to pay any filing fees. Texas Tax Code § 33.49. A "taxing unit" is defined in Section 1.04 of the Tax Code to mean any political unit of the State that is authorized to impose, and is imposing, ad valorem property taxes (*e.g.*, counties, cities and school districts). Because delinquent tax suits are always brought by taxing units, plaintiffs never pay filing fees in delinquent tax suits. But the calculation of filing fees in delinquent tax suits is not an empty exercise because often the filing fees are assessed as a court cost against an unsuccessful defendant.

(b) An "Application for Tax Warrant" is an independent civil suit brought pursuant to Sections 33.21—33.23 of the Texas Tax Code. The law is not entirely clear as to whether such a suit is technically a delinquent tax suit. For purposes of filing fees, the most common (and probably best) practice is to treat applications for tax warrants as delinquent tax suits.

I.3. Eviction Proceeding

| Fee Type | Fee |
|----------------------------------------------------------------|--------------------|
| I. Statewide Required Filing Fees (Set Amounts) | |
| (1) Basic Filing Fee | \$25.00 |
| (2) Statewide E-Filing Fee | 10.00 |
| (3) Indigent Legal Services Fee | 6.00 |
| III. Required Filing Fees in Certain Counties (Set Amounts) | |
| (5) Comal County Juvenile Placement Fee | 1.50 |
| IV. Optional Filing Fees in Certain Counties (Varying Amounts) | |
| (6) Dallas County Civil Court Facility Fee | 0.01 to 15.00 |
| (7) Hays County Civil Court Facility Fee | 0.01 to 15.00 |
| (8) Rockwall County Civil Court Facility Fee | 0.01 to 15.00 |
| Total Filing Fees | \$41.00 to \$56.00 |

Special Notes: This category includes forcible detainers, forcible entry and detainers, and writs of re-entry.

I.4. Foreign Judgment

Texas has adopted the Uniform Enforcement of Judgments Act (UEFJA) which provides for the enforcement of a judgment of another state (known as a foreign judgment) simply by filing the foreign judgment with the clerk. Civil Practice & Remedies Code, Sections 35.002, 35.003. A filed foreign judgment has the same effect as a judgment of a Texas court. Civil Practice & Remedies Code, Section 35.003. A person filing a foreign judgment shall pay to the clerk the same amount as otherwise provided by law for filing suit. Civil Practice & Remedies Code, Section 35.007.

I.5. Transfer of Suit from Other County

The fees for filing a civil suit transferred from another county are the same fees that would be charged for the initial filing of the suit. (Texas Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 89)

II.1. All Actions other than Interpleaders

| Fee Type | Fee |
|-------------------------------------------------|---------|
| I. Statewide Required Filing Fees (Set Amounts) | |
| (1) Basic Filing Fee | \$25.00 |
| (2) Statewide E-Filing Fee | 10.00 |
| (3) Indigent Legal Services Fee | 6.00 |
| Total Filing Fees | \$41.00 |

Special Notes: This category includes counterclaims, cross-actions, third-party actions, and interventions. Interpleaders are not included.