## **Opinions Written by Retired Appellate Justices and Judges** Assigned to Courts of Appeals\*

For the Year Ended August 31, 1995

The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Texas is authorized by Section 74.003, Government Code, to assign a justice of a Court of Appeals for temporary service on another Court of Appeals. He also may assign a retired appellate justice/judge to active service on a Court of Appeals.

During the year ended August 31, 1995, the Chief Justice made assigned 38 retired appellate justices and judges to sit on the courts of appeals. While on assignment these 38 judges wrote a total of 440 appellate opinions. These included 399 original opinions on the merits, 5 dissenting opinions, 2 opinions refusing rehearing, 7 opinions dismissing appeals, 18 per curiam opinions, and 9 other opinions.

Judges Assigned	Original Opinions On Merits	Concurring Opinions	Dissenting Opinions	**Opinions Granting Rehearing	Opinions Refusing Rehearing	Opinions Dismissing Appeal	Other Opinions	Per Curiam Opinions	Total Opinions
Ted Akin	1	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	1
Clyde R. Ashworth	3	0	0	0	0	2	0	0	5
Patrice Barron	7	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	7
Sam H. Bass, Jr.	14	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	14
Raleigh Brown	12	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	12
Shirley Butts	5	1	0	0	0	0	0	0	6
Carlos Cadena	1	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	1
Antonio Cantu	3	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	3
Ron Carr	18	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	18
Charles S. Carver	4	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	4
T. C. Chadick	0	1	0	0	0	0	0	0	1
Paul Colley	12	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	12
Carl E. F. Dally	28	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	28
Tom G. Davis	22	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	22
Joseph A. Devany	4	0	0	0	0	1	0	0	5
Preston H. Dial, Jr.	7	0	0	0	0	0	0	1	8
Joe L. Draughn	4	0	0	0	0	0	0	3	7
Frank G. Evans	1	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	1
David Farris	4	0	0	0	0	0	0	1	5
John G. Hill	7	0	1	0	0	0	0	0	8
John A. James, Jr.	12	0	0	0	0	0	0	2	14
William E. Junell	4	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	4
Austin McCloud	29	1	1	0	2	1	0	8	42
Pat McClung	8	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	8
Frank G. McDonald	43	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	43
Chuck Miller	16	1	0	0	0	0	0	0	17
Robert E. Morse, Jr.	2	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	2
Paul W. Nye	1	0	0	0	0	1	0	1	3
John F. Onion, Jr.	31	0	0	1	0	2	0	0	34
Steven Preslar	7	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	7
F. C. Price	22	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	22
Blair Reeves	7	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	7
Jack B. Smith	6	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	6
Joe Spurlock II	13	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	13
B. J. Stephens	12	0	1	0	0	0	1	0	14
Annette Stewart	5	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	5
Warren Whitham	23	2	2	0	0	0	1	2	30
John Whittington	1	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	1
Total	399	6	5	1	2	7	2	18	440

\* Retired appellate justices assigned by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court.

\*\* Ordinarily, these are comparable to original opinions on the merits.